

KENTUCKY COMMISSION ON HUMAN RIGHTS

Andy Beshear, Governor

Raymond M. Burse, Chair Cynthia B. Fox, Executive Director

Press Release

Date: February 10, 2025

Media Contact: Karen Cottrell

Mrs. Cottrell's direct phone number: 502-764-2763

For help with discrimination, contact commission headquarters: 1-800-292-5566

Kentucky Commission on Human Rights
To Hold Its Regular Meeting
Thursday, February 20, 2025
The public may view the February 20, 2025, meeting via YouTube.

Louisville – The Kentucky Commission on Human Rights (KCHR) Board will hold its regular meeting on **Thursday**, **February 20**, **2025**. The meeting will be held at Kentucky Commission on Human Rights Conference Room located at 312 Whittington Parkway, Suite 020, Louisville, Kentucky at 9:00 a.m. (Eastern Standard Time) and virtually.

The meeting is open to the public and will be broadcast live on *YouTube*. The public may go to the Kentucky Commission on Human Rights YouTube channel @kentuckycommissiononhumanr6761 or the following link https://www.youtube.com/@kentuckycommissiononhumanr6761 to view the meeting. Call 1-800-292-5566 for more information.

The Kentucky Commission on Human Rights is the state government authority that enforces the Kentucky Civil Rights Act (Kentucky Revised Statutes Chapter 344), and through its affiliations with the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission and the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, enforces federal civil rights laws.

The Kentucky Civil Rights Act makes it unlawful to discriminate against people in the areas of employment, financial credit transactions, housing, and public accommodations. Discrimination is prohibited in these areas based on race, color, religion, national origin, gender, and disability. In employment, discrimination is further prohibited on the basis of age (40 years and over) and on the basis of tobacco-smoking status. In housing, discrimination is further prohibited based on familial status, which protects people with children in the household under the age of 18 years old, and it protects women who are pregnant. It is also a violation of the law to retaliate against a person for reporting or alleging discrimination.

For help with discrimination or to make a discrimination complaint, contact the commission at 1-800-292-5566. For information about the commission and civil rights, visit the website at www.kchr.ky.gov.